It’s amazing what you can accomplish when stuck on a plane for 6 hours with Gmail and an internet connection.

The Background (Past)

In August, thanks to a 1:1 tutorial with @treyboden, I prioritized my inbox. I have four sections:

  • 2DO- email I need “2DO” something with before archiving.
  • 2READ- Twitter forward or email that has a link or attachment I “2READ” or a video to view before archiving.
  • AWAITING- email I’m “AWAITING” a response to before archiving.
  • EVERYTHING ELSE- New and read email that hasn’t yet been read, acted upon, or archived.

The Challenge (Present)

On the way Westbound, I decided to tackle one of my four overflowing inboxes: 2DO. Starting at about 37 separate tasks I needed to take action on in some way or another, I tackled many of them. I only have 12 left for a rainy day.

On the way back Eastbound, the “2READ” section was staring at me, daring me to make the tackle on the 34 items I’d marked as needing to be read or watched. Challenge accepted. Now, keep in mind Delta’s bandwidth isn’t the greatest, so I had to put the videos and prerecorded webinars aside for another day. That left me with a manageable amount of articles and websites to become familiar with on the long flight.

Share the Well (Future)

After sifting through the 2READ section of my inbox, here are three new-to-me resources that I believe are share-worthy for educators:

1. Google Scholar

I tested the program with the term “formative assessment” and clicked the option “since 2013.” A few articles worth reading were in the search results. This could be a great go-to for access to research published recently. I am not sure I would recommend this for student use, but for educator research, this could be a promising resource. I will test it again.

2. LearnZillion

Educators struggling with the Common Core should consider bookmarking this site. Video resources are organized by strand, Mathematics and Language Arts standards are broken down by video instruction. Educators could use this for better understanding of the strand, and students wanting to differentiate with extra practice or more challenging content could meet their needs on this site. I plan to watch a few of the videos for a better understanding of their quality.

3. Figure This! Math Challenges for Families

Sponsored by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, Figure This! is a website tool for educators and parents to extend mathematical thinking. My children are going to be testing out Math Challenge #3 over the Thanksgiving holiday!

Also impressive is the article titled “How come the math my child brings home doesn’t look like the math I remember?” that challenges parents to make sure the math their children learn in school will prepare them for the future.

The resources listed here are just three of many out there on the internet to support educators, students, and parents. Enjoy checking them out, and at your next educator tools SmackDown, share them with others!