I’m in the middle of reading Warren Berger’s A More Beautiful Question. I’m intrigued by the idea of shoshin, or the Zen principle of what is described as a beginner’s mind. The overall idea is that looking at a problem with a beginner’s mind, or the naive mind of a 5-year-old, can lead to new ideas and innovations in life, business, and school. Beginner’s minds are full of questions, and no question is too simple or silly.

Today I walked through the halls and found many beginner’s minds at work.

How can I add wires to my camera? My camera is going to take me weeks to build!

FullSizeRender

Can we all fit in this elevator? What if we skip counted backwards by twos from 20? Would we be finished by the time the doors open?

FullSizeRender-3

 

How might we make this game harder? Can we communicate by just clapping and stomping?

FullSizeRender-2

Our young innovators are hard at work every day, thinking in a different way than we do naturally as adults. But experts say that with a little work and a mindset change, we can actually begin to think young again.

As another birthday passes and another grey hair emerges, I’m very much ready to step back into the mind of a child and view the world through a different mindset in hopes that it sparks an increased ability to be curious and to question the world around me in a new way.